Emmitt Smith’s Money Ball$

The image “https://i2.wp.com/texnews.com/graphics/emmtd1.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

NFL TD leader Emmitt Smith’s 1ooth TD ball should fetch some change.

Near the end of our engaging chat last week with Emmitt Smith regarding his post-career business plans ( Pass the Word: Emmitt Smith is No Dancin’ Fool ) I had one last question for the NFL’s all-time leader rusher and touchdown-maker: Where are all those balls?

Long-time Emmitt watcher know he that whenever he scored a touchdown, he never spiked the ball, tossed it to an official or handed it to a kid in the stands (though servicemen are now trumping kids). He calmly carried the pigskin to the sideline and handed it to a Cowboy official, who wrapped a npiece of tape around it, marked it and tucked it into a locked container on the sidelines.

Smith did that from his first to his last, No. 164. The idea was his dad’s. “Just before I started the season,” Smith recalled, “He said, ‘You should keep ehe footballs from every touchdown you score because you never know what your place in history might be.'”

For several seasons, no one really noticed. It was a small gesture between Emmitt, the Cowboy official and his family. It wsn’t until television cameras began following him to the sidelines as he began approaching some records did the world discover his ritual. “Someone asked me, ‘What did you do with the football?’,” he said. “I said. ‘I put it with all the other footballs.’ Then the guy said, ‘What other footballs.” ‘All the ones I’ve been keeping since my rookie year.'”

So where are they? “In Dallas,” he said, coyly. “They’re not in anything special. Just boxes.”

Smith uses them for to raise funds for charities, either his own or other charities. “I’ve given a few of them away, but I still have the majority of them.”

11 thoughts on “Emmitt Smith’s Money Ball$

  1. irv bryant says:

    You could have done 5 or 10 more flixs of Eva and killed all the other shots!!

  2. When I was writing my book, The Divine Nine (shameless plug), I interviewed Emmitt. He was one of the nicest interviews, and although I am not a Cowboy fan (to hell with Golden Richards and the rest of them. Yeah, my hatred goes deep), he has to be my favorite Cowboy.

  3. .Larry Evans says:

    Did Emmitt Smith Keep all his touchdown footballs from high schoo,College,to the pros

  4. t shirt says:

    Youll get to have the best accommodation at an affordable price is foremost in the
    past years allowed vacationers to have the best attractions in
    Dubai. Peak season for the Honeymooners Are you searching for the
    payment of hotel choices to suit every travelers’ taste and budget.

  5. Braviary is a corruption of bravery and a combination of brave and aviary.
    Virtuous Violet is a beautiful midnight mix of a hazy twilight blue and a deep royal purple.

    Another fantastic shop is Victoria’s Secret’s online store, where several neon colored
    shoes, have become the ultimate buy.

  6. Hello there I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I
    was searching on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to
    say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but
    I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read much more, Please do
    keep up the great work.

  7. Andy Sipowitz says:

    Excellent article….I am watching NFL RedZone (best channel ever !) and I was thinking about Emmett and all those footballs. Answered my question exactly. I always thought he was kinda smug doing that….sadly, it’s always about the money…

  8. I like the valuable information you supply in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check once more here frequently.
    I’m relatively certain I will be told many new stuff
    right right here! Good luck for the next!

  9. will says:

    I still love you

  10. Who wrote this article??

Leave a Reply

