Gone West: A.I. Headed to Denver

http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/pic/PHO/AAGJ019~Allen-Iverson-04-All-Star-Game-Posed-Photofile-Posters.jpg

Change that jersey! The Philadelphia 76ers have traded Allen Iverson to Denver in exchange for talented point guard Andre Miller, journeyman forward/center Joe Smth and two first-round picks in the 2007 draft.

The deals gives the Nuggets two of the most potent scorers in the game – at least it will when Carmelo Anthony, the league’s leading scorer, returns from his 15-game suspension on January 20.

The Sixers did, well, okay. It will be some time before we truly know. Miller is a notch-below-all-star caliber poiont guard, which gives Sixers coach a distributor more in the mold of himself. Smith is an expiring contract offering cap-room relief next season. With the two picks, Philly GM has three selections – including their own, likely lottery pick – in what is being touted as one of the phattest drafts in years. What he does with those picks will shape the Sixers for years to come.

I also quite intrigued at how George (Who-Me-An-Agenda?) Karl will make this work. It’s a unique opportunity for A.I. Anthony may be the best player he’s every played with, one hat might be able to offer him the ability to add a couple of years to his game. Championship contender? Not this season. But the Nuggets would have at least two more years to make it work with A.I. It should be fun to watch, at least.

The Iverson Era in Philly is done. The Andre Miller Era? Nah.

8 thoughts on “Gone West: A.I. Headed to Denver

  1. Jake McDonald says:

    Oh shite, now some knee-jerk, code-writing journalist is bound to start calling Denver..Thugtown, USA.

    Joe Smith hasn’t started since….woooo I got dizzy trying to think back that far to his days in Minny-Soda.

    Two first round picks in 2007 huh? Philly isn’t likely to find a Greg Oden-type outside of the lottery and the picks aren’t likely to rate much as trade bait to teams on the verge of a playoff run.

  2. Richard says:

    I’ve included a link (below) to my thoughts on the trade, but something I wanted to add here:

    Billy King, maybe the worst GM in the league, has traded for things only a good GM can utilize: picks and cap room. The only way this turns out well for Philly is if King trades himself and one of those first rounders for another GM.

    At least Isiah has a track record of drafting which is defensible. King has a nice CV including bad contract signings, poor draft picks, and unbalanced trades.

    I feel sorry for Philly, as they just lost a premier performer and are left with a walnut shell of an organization.

    Here’s the link:

    Iverson Gone

  3. Daryl says:

    Although a talent like Allen Iverson can never be replaced, I feel that GM Billy King was well compensated. It is not a well kept secret that Philly will not win a NBA title this year. Therefore, the rebuilding process must commence. Philly gets a talented guard in Andre Miller, and two 1st round draft picks. Joe Smith is a journeyman forward/center who will contribute as a solid role player. Although I will miss A.I., I am encouraged by what GM Billy King received in return. He has his eyes on the future.

  4. Jake McDonald says:

    Philly’s demise started with the ouster of Pat Croce.

  5. Richard says:

    I’m not sure this is what Daryl means when he says “It is not a well kept secret that Philly will not win a NBA title this year … the rebuilding process must commence,” but just because a team will not win a title does not mean a rebuilding process should begin. Specifically as it concerned the 76ers, it’s difficult to consider that franchise as having much credibility at this point. They traded away their franchise’s figurehead. They didn’t get a promotable lpayer in return. Their prospects of winning are best described as “not in the foreseeable future.” Their management is a nightmare.

    I hope, for the sake of the fans of Philadelphia, Billy Kind proves me wrong, makes sound draft picks and gets a baller to come to Philly. But given the history of stars in that city, I wouldn’t put the 76ers at the top of my list were I a free agent. Will I get the Julius treatment? Or am I on the Chamberlain, Barkley, Iverson plan?

  6. Is that all it took to get AI? Really? See, this is where I miss Jerry West (aka God) as Laker GM. Jerry would have gotten AI from the Sixers for Smush Parker, Chris Mihm, and one of Jerry Buss’ lady friends. Sure, it would have been a complete disaster with AI and Kobe in the same backcourt with only one ball, but I would have loved to see the deal go through just to hear other GM gripe about King being snookered by West. Anyone else feel me?

  7. Richard says:

    I’m with you, Lawrence, though I wouldn’t go as far to say that it wouldn’t work with AI and Kobe in the same backcourt. I think it would work for a season or two until Kobe got too cocky and Allen said to himself “Why the hell am I subjugating myself for this []?”

    In other words, the exact same thing Lamar Odom says every night.

  8. best player ever allen iverson

Leave a Reply

