Even a Blind Squirrel …

https://i0.wp.com/graphics.boston.com/bonzai-fba/Original_Graphic/2004/03/25/1080229649_1936.jpg
After dealing with Michael Vick, Tim Doneghy and Kia Vaugnn of late, I needed this: A blind golfer got a hole-in-one.

Shiela Drummond, who was blinded by diabetes 26 years ago, scored an ace last Sunday on No. 4, a 144-yard, par-3, at Mahoning Valley Country Club in Lehighton, PA. Of course she didn’t see it; the rest of her foursome did. “They were saying, ‘It’s a great shot,’ and then I heard it hit the pin,” Drummond told AP.

You gott ya love it, especially if you’re a golfer. I’ve been playing for 16 years and have one ace, gained so long ago, when I had absolutely no clue what I was doing (as opposed to simply no clue, as I often feel these days!), that I might as well have been blind. Scoring an ace is part skill (You have to at least get the ball heading in the general direction of the hole and a lot of luck.

In 1999, Golf Digest said the odds of an amateur getting a hole-in-one were 1 in 12,750. They did not re-jigger the odd if said amateur was blind.

That said, Drummond is no hack. In fact she’s on the board of directors of the United States Blind Golfers Association. With a 48 handicap, she says she plays about three rounds a week and participates in eight to nine tournaments a year. “I just try to do the best I can,” she says. “I get nervous.”

Like I said, after such a week, you simply gotta love it.

2 thoughts on “Even a Blind Squirrel …

  1. Lee says:

    I’ve been thinking of taking up golf. There is a very nice golf course right down the road from me where I can take lessons. However, the thought of a bling woman being a better golfer than I may ever be is a scary thought. I guess I could look at it as a form of walking meditation. LOL
    Nice story, Roy.

  2. Poor Golfer says:

    then i can think what a fantastic golfer he might be !
    extraordinary . need practise for this !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

