Guilty!!

Photo

After the verdict: What next?

A Manhattan jury today ruled that team President of Basketball Operations and coach Isiah Thomas and Madison Square Garden sexually harassed former Knicks exec Anucha Browne Sanders. However, the jury levied no punitive damages against Thomas himself. But they decide to hit MSG with a punitive charge – $11.6 million. “I’m innocent, I’m very innocent, and I did not do the things she has accused me in this courtroom of doing,” Thomas said before getting on a place for Charleston, S.C., where he was set to run the first practice of Knicks training camp this afternoon. “I’m extremely disappointed that the jury did not see the facts in this case. I will appeal this, and I remain confident in the man that I am and what I stand for and the family that I have.”

What a mess.

Though I was not in the courtroom, I am frankly surprised at the verdict – based on coverage of the trial I followed. That said, my wife called it from the beginning. Dang, she’s right again!

The image “https://i2.wp.com/media.lawrence.com/img/photos/2005/03/30/nets1981IsiahThomas_t450.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.
So long ago.

5 thoughts on “Guilty!!

  1. nancy bernstein says:

    haven’t you learned that women are ALWAYS right?!

  2. SJH says:

    This is a shame. If the use of foul language and/or friendly gestures toward a female constitutes sexual harrassment, then I committ a crime several times each day. What, we should interact with each other like robots?

  3. All through this trial, I kept remembering the movie Hollywood Shuffle, with the vision of Isaih strolling with the zombie pimps yelling, “Where my bitches!”

    Seriously, I knew the Dolan/Thomas comedy act would go down. Isiah (and can we get him to correct the spelling of his name??) just didn’t show good judgment.

  4. Wyndell Patterson says:

    Increasingly, I read alot of superfulous comments that have nothing to do with the facts of the topic at hand.
    Compound that with the incessently opinionated media hype and the truth underneat it all is lost.
    What happened here I don’t know. But I’m sure those that were not involved don’t know either!
    Whether one likes Isiah or not has absolutely no bearing on his guilt or innocence. It is absolutely incredulous that so many people cannot or will not remain objective when it comes to athletes or celebrities when they find themselves in trouble.
    Everyone has an opinion about Isiah, or Kobe or OJ or Vick, etc. etc. But, too often that opinion is not base on facts presented but whether one likes or dislikes the image that the accused has been labled with.
    We should all be careful because we all live in glass houses.

  5. Jake Speaks says:

    Wow that’s a hefty penalty the courts levied. I’m certainly going to read the transcripts of the case if they are available. I doubt if she ever receives the full amount do to the appeal process. However, I think more than anything Ms. Sanders feels vindicated by the decision.

Leave a Reply

