Enough is Enough!

The Battlin\' Rodriguezes....Zzzzzzz
The Battlin Rodriguez Family …. Zzzzzz

Athlete Gets Speeding Ticket!

Athlete Runs Red Light!!

Athlete Caught Drinking and Cavorting with Wild Women!!!!

Athlete’s wife leaves him!!!!

ATHLETE BITES DOG!!!!!

Enough already! I’ve hit the wall on the coverage of athletes’ misbehavior. I don’t care about most of their travails and I’m certain most sports fans don’t either.

If they did, they’d stop attending games, watching games on television, listening to games on the radio, checking sports websites a bazillion times a day and commenting on sports blog posts. And that has not not happened. Thankfully.

My crash wasn’t sudden. I wasn’t blind-sided while minding my own business while watching the Mets game last night. But the proverbial straw may have come yesterday when ESPN.com touted on its front page: “Bulls’ Rose heads to court due to speeding ticket.” Of course I clicked on it and discovered that Derrick Rose, the No. 1 pick in the NBA draft, had been caught going 106 in a 65-mph zone back in April.

Of course the story touted that Rose “could get” a year in prison, the maximum sentence, for the offense, a misdemeanor. But also noted that first-time lead-footers like Rose typically get fined and sent to traffic school.

Zzzzzzzz.

Then this morning, my beloved New York Post greets me with “Out at Home,” headlining their story that C-Rod (A-Rod’s wife, Cynthia) was leaving the Yankee Bomber for rocker Lenny Kravitz, he of the very tight leather pants. She was said to be “shacking up” with Kravitz  at his Paris digs. (This afternoon Kravitz denied that there is an affair, saying he and Cynthia are friends and he allowed her and the godfather of her child, who is also Alex’s trainer, to stay with him while she was trying to get away from the madness of the coverage of her husband’s stud-life in New York. “I opened my home to her as a friend and I find it extremely hurtful that I am now being referred to as an adulterer,” he says.)

Zzzzzzzzz.

Now I’m not trying to hark back to the days when jocks and the men who cover them were practically in cahoots regarding the athlete’s off-hours dalliances. Nor am I condoning illegal behavior of any sort. (Rose needs to slow his butt down! He’s been driving for eight minutes?!).

Especially any Pacman-like foolishness.

But every misstep by an athlete is not worthy of exhaustive coverage and holier-than-thou ranting by talking sports bobble-heads (such as myself).

I just don’t care. Does anyone else?

Leave a Reply

